Current Affairs
Daily Bits

eChhawani Portal

  • Posted By
  • Categories
    Polity & Governance
  • Published
    6th Oct, 2022


Government has approved the extension of Online Building Plan Approval System (OBPAS) under eChhawani portal to five more Cantonment Boards, namely Agra, Ranikhet, Babina, Jammu and Cannanore.

About eChhawani

  • eChhawani is a citizen-centric project of the Directorate General of Defence Estates, Ministry of Defence.
  • Under this initiative, Cantonment Boards provide online citizen services to more than 20 lakh residents across 62 Cantonments in the country through the unified eChhawani Portal.
  • It aims to improve citizen interaction with Cantonment Boards while making Cantonment Board employees better equipped, informed and responsive to public needs with transparency and in an effective manner.
  • It enables citizens to avail the various services online rendered by the Cantonment Boards through Cantonment Board websites.

About Cantonment Board

  • The cantonment board is a civic administration body. 
  • It functions under the Ministry of Defence in India. 
  • The board is constituted of the elected members, ex-officio members and nominated members in accordance with the Cantonments Act, 2006. 
    • The member of the board is elected for five years. 
    • The board comprises the eight elected members and three nominated military members. 
    • It also comprises the three ex-officio members namely, the garrison engineer, station commander and the senior executive medical officer besides one representative from the district magistrate.

Categories of Cantonments board

  • The cantonments are categorised into four categories-
    • Category I – where the population exceeds 50,000.
    • Category II –where population stands between 10,000 to 50,000
    • Category III – where population stands between 2500 to 10000
    • Category IV – where population stands below 2500.

Verifying, please be patient.