Current Affairs
Daily Bits

India elected to UN Economic and Social Council for 2022-24 term

  • Posted By
  • Categories
    World Affairs
  • Published
    10th Jun, 2021


India has been elected to the United Nations Economic and Social Council (UNECOSOC) for a two-year period starting next year.

New members

  • Asia-Pacific: India, Afghanistan, Kazakhstan and Oman.
  • African states: Côte d'Ivoire, Eswatini, Mauritius, Tunisia and the United Republic of Tanzania.
  • Eastern European states: Croatia and the Czech Republic.
  • Latin American and Caribbean states: Belize, Chile and Peru.
  • In the Economic and Social Council by-election, Greece, New Zealand and Denmark were elected for a term of office from January to December 2022 and Israel was elected for a term of office beginning January 1, 2022 and until December 31, 2023.

ECOSOC president

  • Ambassador Munir Akram of Pakistan was elected as the 76th President of the Economic and Social Council on 23 July 2020, succeeding Mona Juul of Norway.


  • The Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) is one of the 6 principal organs of the United Nations System established by the UN Charter in 1945.
  • It consists of 54 Members of the United Nations elected by the General Assembly.
  • ECOSOC coordinates economic, social, and related work of the fourteen United Nations specialized agencies, functional commissions and five regional commissions.
  • It serves as the central forum for discussing international economic and social issues, and for formulating policy recommendations addressed to Member States and the United Nations system.
  • In carrying out its mandate, ECOSOC consults with academics, business sector representatives and more than 3,200 registered non-governmental organizations.
  • The work of the Council is conducted through several sessions and preparatory meetings, round tables and panel discussions with members of civil society throughout the year, to deal with the organization of its work.
  • Once a year, it meets for a four-week substantive session in July, alternating between New York and Geneva.
  • The Council's 54 member Governments are elected by the General Assembly for overlapping three-year terms.
  • Seats on the Council are allotted based on geographical representation with 14 allocated to African states, 11 to Asian states, six to eastern European states, 10 to Latin American and Caribbean states and 13 to western European and other states.