Current Affairs
Daily Bits

India’s achievements in CWG 2022

  • Posted By
  • Categories
    World Affairs
  • Published
    9th Aug, 2022


Recently, Commonwealth Games 2022 finishes, as India’s performance grabs global eyes.

What are commonwealth nations?

  • The Commonwealth of Nations is an association of independent sovereign states, most of which are former colonies of the United Kingdom. 
  • The British Monarch remains the head of the Commonwealth. 
  • Hence, the Queen of the United Kingdom, Elizabeth II is given the title of Head of the Commonwealth. 
  • This title doesn’t hold any political power over its member countries.

Members of Commonwealth

  • There are 54 countries in the Commonwealth, in Africa, Asia, the Americas, Europe, and the Pacific. Commonwealth countries are diverse – they are amongst the world’s biggest, smallest, richest, and poorest countries.
  • 32 of the members are classified as small states. 
    • Small states are especially vulnerable to things like climate change or developmental challenges.
  • Every 2 years, the member countries meet to discuss issues affecting the Commonwealth and the wider world at the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM).
  • All members have an equal say regardless of size or wealth. This makes sure even the smallest countries have a voice in shaping the Commonwealth.

Verifying, please be patient.