Current Affairs
Daily Bits

PM Modi named Somnath Temple trust chairman

  • Posted By
  • Categories
    History & Culture
  • Published
    19th Jan, 2021


Prime Minister Narendra Modi is chosen as the new chairman of the Somnath Temple trust which manages the Somnath Temple at Prabhas Patan town in Gujarat's Gir-Somnath district, becoming the second PM to hold the post.

Somnath Temple

  • The Somnath temple(also known as the DeoPatan) is located in Prabhas Patan on the western coast of Gujarat.
  • It is believed to be the first among the twelve jyotirlingashrines of Shiva.

Temple Architecture

  • The present temple is built in the Chaulukya style of temple architecture or "Kailash Mahameru Prasad" style.
  • This style is sometimes called the Vesara style and Chalukya style.
  • It reflects the skill of the SompuraSalats, one of Gujarat's master masons.
  • The temple's sikhara, or main spire, is 15 metres in height, and it has an 8.2-metre tall flag pole at the top.
  • The temple’s entrance has gallery exhibits photos telling the tale of the ancient temple’s ruins, renovations and excavations.
  • The temple’s architecture and is adorned with stone carvings & sculptures.
  • The temple in its interior has a GarbhaGriha with the Jyotirlingam enshrined in it, a SabhaMandap or assembly hall and aNrityamandap.
  • The ceiling is made out of loadstone and is decked with exquisite watercolor paintings.

Chalukya or Vasara Style of Temple architecture

  • The Vesara style (Western Chalukyas in the late 10th-century) contains elements of both Dravida and Nagara styles.
  • They have Northern Indian Style of Shikhara and Mandap was designed in Southern Indian Style.
  • Shikhara and Mandap are joint by the Antarala.
  • These temples do not have ambulatory passageways around Sanctum Sanctorum.
  • Examples: Ladkhan Temple at Aihole, DoddaBassapa Temple at Dambal.