Current Affairs
Daily Bits


  • Posted By
  • Categories
    World Affairs
  • Published
    19th Dec, 2020


The four members of the Quad have stepped up their efforts to ensure security across the Indo-Pacific and to build alternative and resilient supply chains against the backdrop of China’s increasingly assertive actions across the region.

Key-highlights of the discussion

  • India, Japan, United States and Australia discussed several issues like
  • open and inclusive Indo-Pacific
  • the need for safe, effective and affordable access to COVID-19 vaccines
  • The four countries reiterated their commitment to a free, open, prosperous and inclusive Indo-Pacific based on shared values and principles and respect for international law, especially the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS).

What is Quad?

  • The Quadrilateral Security Dialogueis also known as the Quad or Asian NATO.
  • It is an informal strategic forum between the United States, Japan, Australia and India.
  • It is maintained by semi-regular summits, information exchanges and military drills between member countries.
  • The forum was initiated as a dialogue in 2007 by then Prime Minister Shinzo Abe of Japan.
  • India, Australia, US and Japan, formed the “quadrilateral” coalition on November 12, 2017.

What is the main aim behind its formation?

  • It was formed with the aim to counter China’s aggressive behaviour in the Indo-Pacific region.

Verifying, please be patient.