Current Affairs
Daily Bits

All UN member states can now join International Solar Alliance: India

  • Posted By
  • Categories
  • Published
    16th Jan, 2021


All member states of the United Nations, including those lying beyond the tropics, can now join the International Solar Alliance (ISA) with an amendment to its framework agreement coming into effect recently.

Earlier who could be the member?

  • The countries located fully or partially between the Tropic of Cancer and the Tropic of Capricorn were the members.

International Solar Alliance (ISA)

  • The International Solar Alliance was launched jointly by the Indian Prime Minister and the French President during the 2015 United Nations Climate Change Conference, or COP21, in Paris.
  • Currently, India is the president of the alliance.
  • At present, 89 countries have signed the framework agreement of the ISA.

Aim of ISA:

  • It aims to contribute to the implementation of the Paris Climate Agreement through rapid and massive deployment of solar energy.
  • The ISA aims to bring together countries to provide a collective response to the main common obstacles to the massive deployment of solar energy in terms of technology, finance and capacity.

Objective of ISA:

  • To mobilise member countries
  • Seek commitments from international organisations and mobilise private sector
  • To support rural and decentralised applications
  • Access to affordable finance
  • Island and village solar mini grids
  • Rooftop installations
  • and solar e-mobility technologies

Significance of the Amendment

  • The coming into force of the amendment of the ISA framework agreement allows all the member states of the United Nations to join the grouping, including those lying beyond the tropics.
  • Expanding the ISA membership is expected to put solar energy on the global agenda with the universal appeal for developing and deploying solar energy.
  • It will also make ISA inclusive.

Verifying, please be patient.