Current Affairs
Daily Bits


  • Posted By
  • Categories
    World Affairs
  • Published
    9th Sep, 2020
  • A virtual meeting of G20 Education Ministers was held recently to discuss and share experiences of member countries in the three identified areas of Education – Continuity in Times of Crises, Early Childhood Education and Internationalization in Education.
    • The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia is hosting G-20 Leaders’ Summit in 2020.
  • The G20 is an annual meeting of leaders from the countries with the largest and fastest-growing economies. Its members account for 85% of the world’s GDP, and two-thirds of its population.
    • The G20 Summit is formally known as the “Summit on Financial Markets and the World Economy”.
    • Fulltime member of G20 are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States and the European Union.
  • The G20 developing nations also called G21/G23/G20+ are a bloc of developing nations which was established on August 20, 2003. It is distinct from the G20 major economies.
  • The G20+ originated in September 2003 at the 5th ministerial conference of the WTO held at Cancun, Mexico.
  • Its origins can be traced to the Brasilia Declaration signed by the foreign ministers of India, Brazil and South Africa on 6th June 2003.
  • The G20+ is responsible for 60% of the world population, 26% of the world’s agricultural exports and 70% of its farmers.

Verifying, please be patient.