Current Affairs
Daily Bits

Ministry of Tourism is taking initiatives to develop and promote Buddhist sites

  • Posted By
  • Categories
    Polity & Governance
  • Published
    10th Oct, 2020
  • Under its flagship’s schemes of Swadesh Darshan & PRASHAD.
  • Buddhist sites have been identified as one of the 15 thematic circuits under the Swadesh Darshan Scheme.
  • Further as per the information received from ASI, CNBs Signage has been installed in Chinese language at 5 below monuments in Uttar Pradesh:
    1. Site and Stupa and monastery of the Sakyas Piprahwa- Lucknow Circle
    2. Sravasti – Lucknow Circle
    3. Ancient Buddhist site of Sarnath- Sarnath Circle
    4. Chaukhandi Stupa – Sarnath Circle
    5. Buddhist relics and Mahaparinirvana temple located at Kushinagar- Sarnath Circle.
  • The CNBs signage in Sinhali language at Sanchi monuments in Madhya Pradesh has also been installed.
  • National Mission on Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual, Heritage Augmentation Drive (PRASHAD)
  • This Scheme was launched by the Ministry of Tourism in the year 2014-15 with the objective of holistic development of identified pilgrimage and heritage destinations.
  • The total number of sites identified for development under the scheme at present are 24. They are:
    • Amaravati and Srisailam (Andhra Pradesh),
    • Kamakhya (Assam),
    • Patna and Gaya (Bihar),
    • Dwarka and Somnath (Gujarat),
    • Hazratbal and Katra (Jammu & Kashmir),
    • Deogarh (Jharkhand),
    • Guruvayoor (Kerala),
    • Maa Chintpurni, Una (Himachal Pradesh,
    • Omkareshwar (Madhya Pradesh), Trimbakeshwar (Maharashtra),
    • Puri (Odisha),
    • Amritsar (Punjab),
    • Ajmer (Rajasthan),
    • Kanchipuram and Vellankani (Tamil Nadu),
    • Varanasi, and Mathura (Uttar Pradesh),
    • Badrinath and Kedarnath (Uttarakhand) and
    • Belur (West Bengal).

Verifying, please be patient.