Current Affairs
Daily Bits

Vijayanagara became Karnataka’s 31st district

  • Posted By
  • Categories
    Polity & Governance
  • Published
    12th Feb, 2021


The Karnataka government issued a notification demarcating boundaries of the newly-formed Vijayanagara district. With Vijayanagara, the state now has 31 districts.

Formation of a new district

  • For the formation of a new district, no central government permission is required whereas the formation of a new state is in the purview of Central government.
  • This will be under the state government only.

About the Vijayanagara district

  • The newly-formed Vijayanagara district was named after the capital of the Vijayanagar Empire.
  • The new district was carved out from Ballari under the Karnataka Land Revenue Act, 1964.
  • It is famous for its UNESCO World Heritage sites – Hampi and VirupakshaTemple.
  • Vijayanagara has six taluks – Hosapete, Kudligi, Hagaribommanahalli, Kotturu, HoovinaHadagali, and Harapanahalli.
  • Hosapete is its headquarters.