Current Affairs
Daily Bits

Asia-pacific Institute of Broadcasting Development (AIBD)

  • Posted By
  • Categories
    World Affairs
  • Published
    22nd Sep, 2022


India’s Presidency of the prestigious Asia-pacific Institute of Broadcasting Development (AIBD) has been extended for one more year.


  • The 47th AIBD Annual Gathering / 20th AIBD General Conference and Associated Meetings held in New Delhi recently.
  • All the participating countries and member broadcasters pledged to work together for a sustainable broadcasting environment, latest technology know-how, finest content creation, and various co-operative activities.

About Asia-pacific Institute of Broadcasting Development (AIBD)

  • The Asia-Pacific Institute for Broadcasting Development (AIBD) was established in 1977 under the auspices of UNESCO.
  • It is a unique regional inter-governmental organisation servicing countries of the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (UN-ESCAP) in the field of electronic media development.
  • The organization was formed to enhance the economic activity in Asia and the Far East and to boost economic relations between the region and other areas of the world. 


  • The AIBD is mandated to achieve a vibrant and cohesive electronic media environment in the Asia-Pacific region through policy and resource development.
  • Provide a window for regional policy makers to access information to worldwide mass media policy formulation and regulations and vice versa.
  • To establish inter-regional links and cooperation for media and communications development.


  • Located in Kuala Lumpur and is hosted by the Government of Malaysia.


  • AIBD currently has 26 countries as complete members represented by 43 organizations and 52 affiliate members.


  • The UN-ESCAP is one of the five regional commissions of the UN Economic and Social Council. 
  • It was established in 1947 to boost economic relationships between countries in Asia and the Far East as well as other regions across the globe. 
  • It currently has 53 member states and 9 associate members, mostly from Asia and Pacific. 
  • It also includes countries such as France, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom and the United States.

Verifying, please be patient.